Joy After Failure

Our resources are the result of how we make decisions. This book is about how to make better decisions using The Choice Cycle and what to do next when we experience failure. It demonstrates how to take an inventory of our resources, how to clarify our intentions and how to develop our own constitution so […]

Read More &#8594

Trying Not to Try

A deeply original exploration of the power of spontaneity—an ancient Chinese ideal that cognitive scientists are only now beginning to understand—and why it is so essential to our well-being   Why is it always hard to fall asleep the night before an important meeting? Or be charming and relaxed on a first date? What is […]

Read More &#8594

Night Falls Fast

From the author of the best-selling memoir An Unquiet Mind, comes the first major book in a quarter century on suicide, and its terrible pull on the young in particular. Night Falls Fast is tragically timely: suicide has become one of the most common killers of Americans between the ages of fifteen and forty-five. An […]

Read More &#8594

Annual Review of Addictions and Offender Counseling, Volume IV

The Annual Review of Addictions and Offender Counseling, Volume IV: Best Practices is the fourth volume in a series of peer-reviewed edited books sponsored by the International Association of Addiction and Offender Counselors (IAAOC), a division of the American Counseling Association (ACA). Continuing the mission of past volumes, this volume provides a forum for publications […]

Read More &#8594

Awakenings

Awakenings–which inspired the major motion picture–is the remarkable story of a group of patients who contracted sleeping-sickness during the great epidemic just after World War I. Frozen for decades in a trance-like state, these men and women were given up as hopeless until 1969, when Dr. Oliver Sacks gave them the then-new drug L-DOPA, which […]

Read More &#8594

The Mindful Athlete

Michael Jordan credits George Mumford with transforming his on-court leadership of the Bulls, helping Jordan lead the team to six NBA championships. Mumford also helped Kobe Bryant, Andrew Bynum, and Lamar Odom and countless other NBA players turn around their games. A widely respected public speaker and coach, Mumford is sharing his own story and […]

Read More &#8594

You Don’t Have to Take it Anymore

As many as one-third of all American women tiptoe through life as if they are walking on eggshells — at home, they spend most of their time trying to avoid criticism, anger, put-downs, or cold shoulders from their husbands or boyfriends. This verbal and emotional abuse can erupt over anything and everything, matters large and […]

Read More &#8594

The Psychology of Time Travel

“A fascinating meditation on the many ways traveling through time can change a person.” —HelloGiggles“This genre-bending, time-bending debut will appeal to fans of Doctor Who, dystopian fiction, and life’s great joy: friend groups.”—Refinery29 Perfect for fans of Naomi Alderman’s The Power and Margot Lee Shetterly’s Hidden Figures comes The Psychology of Time Travel, a mind-bending, […]

Read More &#8594

Psychology

Have you been wondering about the complexity of a human brain? Do you have questions that you need answers to or are there things and habits that bother you and you wish you could change them but nothing seems to work for you? If the answer to these questions is yes then you are lucky […]

Read More &#8594