Lawyers in Practice

How do lawyers resolve ethical dilemmas in the everyday context of their practice? What are the issues that commonly arise, and how do lawyers determine the best ways to resolve them? Until recently, efforts to answer these questions have focused primarily on rules and legal doctrine rather than the real-life situations lawyers face in legal […]

Deciding Weather to Fly

This textbook was written by a Commercially rated Helicopter and Airplane Pilot (ASEL & AMEL), a CFI and CFI-I for both, and a former Flight Paramedic of 15 years. This class is provocative, direct, and will address scenarios that have occurred this year; which had one of the largest death rates in the history of […]

The Model Thinker

How anyone can become a data ninja From the stock market to genomics laboratories, census figures to marketing email blasts, we are awash with data. But as anyone who has ever opened up a spreadsheet packed with seemingly infinite lines of data knows, numbers aren’t enough: we need to know how to make those numbers […]

The Counselling Sessions: Overcoming Irritability and Anger in Relationships

The book shows a scripted conversation between a counsellor and a client over six counselling sessions. It is based on real-life counselling sessions. The themes are based on real events that occurred during counselling sessions with various clients who were struggling to control their feelings of irritability and anger towards their partner. Before coming to […]

The Only Girl in the World

AN AMAZON BEST BOOK OF THE MONTH. For readers of Room and The Glass Castle, an astonishing memoir of one woman rising above an unimaginable childhood. Maude Julien’s parents were fanatics who believed it was their sacred duty to turn her into the ultimate survivor–raising her in isolation, tyrannizing her childhood and subjecting her to […]

Theories of the Firm

For a long time, economists have seen the firm as a black box, arguing that firms maximise profits. Without following this ultimate goal, economists say that organisations would not survive in competitive markets (Makamason, 2004). In order not to be replaced, managers would have to comply with the objective of profit (value) maximisation. Hart (1989) […]